How to get Internet in Germany – Customer Journey – 1&1 is not two, rather 33! (part 1 of 5)

How to get Internet in Germany - Customer Journey - 1&1 is not two, rather 33! (part 1 of 5)

”Pre-Pre” Service Period:
I called the previous tenant (my landlord gave me his number) and I called him first and foremost because the previous couple had got some mail in the mail box after that they had moved out. I asked the previous tenant which Internet provider he had when he lived here. He answered O2 and he told me that his first touch point with the service (when he signed up for Internet) was with a physical person at the other side of the stand at Media Markt.


Pre- Service Period (the first touch Point/ Service Encounter with Front End):

February 1st. I entered Media Markt, spoked to a salesman to order Internet flat rate.
Once I had entered the store, on the right hand side, there were three counters with salesmen who sold smart phones, Internet etc. I asked the salesman at one of the counter that I wanted to order Internet flat rate to my apartment and I asked what he could offer. The person on the other side of the counter referred to a man at the stand next to him so I walked over to the other desk. I asked the person which I had been referred to, to get Internet Flat Rate. He informed me about which providers they offered. The salesman, a tall person in the 50’s asked wanted to know my address, which floor I lived on and if the apartment was to the left or to the right from the stairway. Furthermore, they needed my bank account information to debit money monthly. He also asked a very strange question; if I wanted to get the service (Internet) as soon as possible. I answered of course yes, and asked if it cost extra to get it installed as soon as possible. I thought that I could install Internet at the same day, which was not the case. The salesman described a sequence of the process with help of a sketch. He scribbled down the process on an A4 paper. A Service Technician have to get access to my apartment and to the basement to install Internet. I asked if the Service Technician comes during working hours (to know if I have to be away from work) or if it could be solved in the evening. The Service Technician will most likely do the installation during working hours. In addition, the router will be sent to my address via the regular post, Deutsche Post. I asked how long it would take to get Internet installed, and his answer was that it takes around two weeks. In the end, the salesmen send my address and bank information to 1&1 (the Internet provider I choose) via his computer. I was not at Media Markt only to get Internet, I bought a vacuum cleaner as well. When I had paid for the vacuum cleaner, I went back to the Internet salesman’s counter to ask him what would happen if I decided to move before those 24 Months (24 Months is minimum in the contract). He claimed that it is not a problem to move within Germany, you simply bring the router with you to the new address, he said. I asked him; what would happen if I decided to move back to Sweden before 24 Months. First he was not sure but finally he answered that he didn’t believe that it would cause any problem as long as I have a ”nachricht”. He could’t find the english word so I filled in by asking if he meant a reference (actually message). I believe that the salesman answered what he thought I wanted to hear, namely that it wouldn’t be a problem either.


February 3rd. Telephone call.

A man called me and asked me questions in german. Questions such as where I live and on which floor. The man spoke quite fast so I didn’t understand everything, I asked him to speak a bit slower. He informed me that a Service Technician needs to come to my address to install Internet in my apartment and in the basement (the same kind of questions and information which I got two days earlier at Media Markt). I asked how long time he thought it would take and he answered me two weeks.


February 5th. Received mail from 1&1.

I received a mail from 1&1 containing six A4 papers with information. The mail was dated the same day as my first touch point (Saturday, February 1st). I hardly believe that the 1&1 employees work on a Saturday (but I don’t know for sure). I suspect that they wrote an earlier date on the mail to make it look good. The information written in the mail was among things: A) Contact information to their help center. B) they wanted me to sign a a SEPA- paper (Single Euro Payments Area) in order to automatically pay the monthly Internet invoice. C) They gave me a certificate/ username and password to an web page (1&1 Control Center). The user have to log in to the 1&1 Control Center web page using the given username and a password (which can be used just one time) and change the password before March 1st. The reason why I contacted 1&1 was to get Internet and then they want me to use just Internet to reach the Control Center within a time span that in the end is too short. They can’t suppose that every potential new customer has access to Internet from elsewhere?


February 7th. I signed and submitted the SEPA document.

I had some difficulties to understand the letter 1&1 sent me because it was written in German. It took me two days until I signed the SEPA contract that allows 1&1 to get money from my bank account each month. I scanned the signed document and e-mailed it to 1&1 from work. I got a an automated answer/ e-mail back from 1&1 where they confirm that my message has been received successfully.
(Continues on part 2).

Get the journey as a PDF.

Leave a Reply

