How to get Internet in Germany – Customer Journey – 1&1 is not two, rather 33! (part 2 of 5)

How to get Internet in Germany - Customer Journey - 1&1 is not two, rather 33! (part 2 of 5)

February 13th. Logged in on the Control Center and changed password.
I logged in on 1&1 Control Center’s website from work and changed the pre-given password to a new, personal password.

February 15th. Questions to the salesman, the first touchpoint.
Two weeks had passed since I was at Media Markt and the first touch point. 1&1 seemed pretty keen to do a good job for me as a customer during the first five days, but nothing really happened from Friday 7th and onwards. I went to Media Markt on Saturday 17th of February. I talked to the same salesman as I did when I was there the first time. I asked him what was going on. He claimed this time that it could have taken two weeks. He asked me if I wanted him to call to 1&1 and I said yes. The salesman called 1&1, the Internet provider which I have chosen. After a short conversation between 1&1 and the salesman, 1&1 transferred the phone call to Deutsche Telekom and another conversation followed in german. The salesman at Media Markt explained to me in english that it is Deutsche Telekom that will send a Service Technician to my apartment and that Deutsche Telekom will contact me in person regarding the date when they will install Internet during some day the following week.

February 21st. I received a letter from 1&1.
I received a letter from 1&1 in which they wrote that the Service Technician will come home to me on March 5th.

February 24th. One day vacation from work.
Filled in a vacation form at work. I took holiday on 5th of March to be able to let the Service Technician in. The vacation was approved.


February 25th. I received a SMS from 1&1.
I received a SMS message from 1&1 in which they informed me that a Service Technician will come to my apartment on March 5th to install the DSL- / Internet connection. Furthermore, they ask me or someone to be at home during that time and that I could give them my phone number which I want them to use to contact me close before their arrival. The phone number can be set under the 1&1 Control Center (https://login.1und1.de).
Continues on part 3.

Get the journey as a PDF.

Leave a Reply

