This years Midsummer was spent along the Isar river in Munich.

This years Midsummer was spent along the Isar river in Munich.

I celebrated Midsummer in Munich along the river Isar yesterday. I took yesterday off since it is not a bank holiday in Germany. I went from Augsburg to Munich in the evening at 6 pm. We were a group of 15-20 people who came together to celebrate Midsummer. I knew most of them from the school in Umeå (UID) but some students were new to me since they had started at the school after I graduated. People bbq:ed and brought salad, dessert, snacks and beers. It was nice to see them and to catch up with them. Most of them went out to a club in the night but I went back to Augsburg, I took the train at 2:06 am this morning.

Today, June 21st is the longest day and has the shortest night. The day is longest exactly at 12:51 a.m., it was 11 minutes ago now.

I celebrated last years (2103) Midsummer outside of Gothenburg with my friends there, the year before that; in 2012, I celebrated the Midsummer at the families summer house and the year before that; in 2011, I was in Aarhus (Denmark) during Midsummer.

Leave a Reply

